Leadership Team

Dr. R. K. Malhotra

Dr. R. K. Malhotra is a Mechanical Engineer from IIT, BHU and Ph.D. from IIT, Delhi. He is presently Director General of the Federation of Indian Petroleum Industry. He was earlier Board member at Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. as Director (R&D) and also held additional charge as Chairman before superannuation in June, 2014.

He has around 40 years of experience in the oil industry. He has published/presented 190 research papers and holds 53 patents granted in India & abroad. In addition, several patents filed are expected to be granted in near future.

He is professionally active as the President of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAEIndia) and also the President of Hydrogen Association of India. In the past, he has also held positions of President in the Indian Chapter of International Council of Combustion Engines (CIMAC), Tribology Society of India and also the Indian Chapter of National Lubricating Grease Institute (NLGI), USA.

He is also the Chairman of the Divisional Council of Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) responsible for formulating specifications of Petroleum, Coal and Related Products in India, Chairman of the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) Committee for formulations of emission standards for gensets and Chairman of the Research Council of CSIR-Indian Institute of Petroleum. He is represented on the academic as well as research councils of University of Petroleum and Energy Studies (UPES). Dr. Malhotra is also the Member of the Governing Body of LPG Equipment Research Centre and also of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas and research councils of IOCL and HPCL.

Under his leadership IndianOil’s Research Centre received several National/International recognitions including; HART Energy Global Award, SCOPE Meritorious Award, World Petroleum Congress (WPC) Award, PetroFed Innovator of the Year Award (4 times) and CSIR Science & Technology Award to name a few. He was bestowed with Rudolf A. Erren Award (2012) by the International Association of Hydrogen Energy (IAHE). He also received "Global Excellence Award" for his contributions in Renewable energy sector and also the IIT-BHU Alumni Award for excellence in R&D.